#VirtualJaneCon Schedule

We’re stuck at home and feeling lonely with all this social distancing, so what better way to perk up than a virtual Jane Austen conference? It’s a way for us to be together without being together irl, and continue to learn and bond over Jane Austen, literature and the Regency Era. See below for more!

When: Join us March 28 and 29, 2020 for #VirtualJaneCon.

Where: On the internet! (See below for the schedule with links. This will be updated as things become finalized.)

How much does it cost? It’s free, but do consider donating to your local JASNA Region or supporting any of the authors, creators, etc. who are participating.

Times for programs will be listed below in PST/EST/GMT.

Saturday Schedule:

Adapting Jane Austen (10 a.m. PDT, 1 p.m. EST, 5 p.m. GMT) – Karen M Cox provides an overview of subgenres in Austen-inspired fiction and discusses the joys and challenges of adapting Jane Austen into other eras. A short presentation will be followed by Q&A. The meeting will be conducted via Zoom (meeting ID 217 698 2401). Video to be uploaded here later.

How to have a Jane Austen book club (11 a.m. PDT, 2 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. GMT) – Soniah Kamal will give a live talk on Jane Austen book clubs on her Instagram.

Jane Austen and Adaptations (12 p.m. PDT, 3 p.m. EST, 7 p.m. GMT) – How screen adaptations change the story to bring out different aspects of books, with varied success. Courtney Birnbaum hosts on YouTube.

Making a Regency Dress (1 p.m. PDT, 4 p.m. EST, 8 p.m. GMT) – Sabrina Nelson will talk about making a Regency dress from a Sari. Video to be posted. Q&A to be on Zoom (Meeting ID: 568 186 3809, email fcpdiva@gmail.com for the password and put “password DA” in the subject of the message).

The Mystery of Emma (2 p.m. PDT, 5 p.m. EST, 9 p.m. GMT) – Rachel Amber Bloom will be talking about how Emma can be considered a mystery novel on her Facebook Page

Jane Austen and Fandom (3 p.m. PDT, 6 p.m. EST, 10 p.m. GMT) – Admin R on Drunk Austen Facebook Page

Regency costuming 101 (4 p.m. PDT, 7 p.m. EST, 11 p.m. GMT) – Admin Bianca does a Regency 101 costuming class on the Drunk Austen Facebook Page.

Setting Jane Austen in Modern Times (5 p.m. PDT, 8 p.m. EST, 12 a.m. GMT) – Mary Hill will discuss adapting Austen in the modern era: the peaks, the pits, and the pitfalls. Live on Facebook here.

EMMA. Livetweet (7 p.m. PDT, 10 p.m. EST, 2 a.m. GMT) – Drunk Austen hosts on Twitter. Use #DrunkEmma to participate.

Sunday Schedule:

Bonnets at Dawn (10 a.m. PDT , 1 p.m. EST,  5 p.m. GMT) – Presentation and Q&A in the Bonnets at Dawn Facebook Group.

Austen’s Emma and its Afterlife on the Stage (12 p.m. PDT , 3 p.m. EST, 7 p.m. GMT) – Dr. Devoney Looser will offer a pre-recorded presentation on Jane Austen’s Emma and its stage adaptations, with a Q&A live at the above time on Zoom (Meeting ID: 154 458 714, Password: Janeite). You’re encouraged to watch the video before the Q&A, where we’ll have questions, answers, and conversation about Emma in pop culture, in all formats, over the past 150 years.

Profile of an Austen Antagonist (1 p.m. PDT , 4 p.m. EST, 8 p.m. GMT) – Sheila Sine will be presenting an analysis of Austen Antagonists across all six published novels on Zoom (Meeting ID 413-574-144 PW: Austen)

Making Your Own Jane Austen Book Club (2 p.m. PDT , 5 p.m. EST, 10 p.m. GMT) – Yvette Keller will discuss some pro tips for creating your own Jane Austen book club on Zoom (Meeting ID: 920 229 786 Password: Jane). Q&A to follow.

Regency Closet Organization: ANYTIME! – Yvette Keller has very kindly uploaded a series about organizing your Regency closet. Video playlist here.

Jane Austen on screen (3 p.m. PDT , 6 p.m. EST, 10 p.m. GMT) – Danielle Cook will present on the struggle to capture Austen’s voice in cinema and other media. Zoom meeting ID 825 179 183 PW: JaneAusten.

Persuasion Adaptations (4 p.m. PDT , 7 p.m. EST, 11 p.m. GMT) – Amanda Prahl will discuss Jane Austen’s Persuasion and its various adaptations on her Facebook Page.

Dancing in Jane Austen’s Time (5 p.m. PDT , 8 p.m. EST, 12 a.m. GMT) – Cassiane Mobley will talk about what dancing was like during Jane Austen’s time. Watch her pre-recorded talk here, and tune in at her talk time for a Facebook Live here.

Pride and Prejudice Watch Party (7 p.m. PDT, 10 p.m. EST, 2 a.m. GMT) – Will be held in Drunk Janeites Facebook group.


Check back here for updates!

ETXnfpfWsAEFTap

Thanks,

-Admin Bianca

2 thoughts on “#VirtualJaneCon Schedule

  1. So happy to see this! I will be there. We are on Pacific Daylight Time here, so does PST mean the time we are on now? or Standard time for which we must compensate? (This is an issue for Arizona which refuses to go on Daylight Savings.)

    Like

Leave a Reply to Danine Cozzens Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s